Has anyone stored a custom datatype in poCmd.mpoExtra using [serializable()]

I’m new to Solidworks and PDM, first server was started up just under 2 years ago. Since then I had to write a fair bit of API for SW and PDM. I’m not new to APIs, did Solid Edge stuff before, but new to Solidworks and PDM. I had some task variables I wanted to store and wanted them encapsulated in a datatype. So I chose to decorate the class with [Serializable()] then put that in a single mpoExtra variable.

Have others done this? Is it considered a safe method?

I had a longer post with more details, but decided to trim it down to start the conversation.

1 Like

I’m not sure I understand you entirely. Which hook are you talking about EdmCmd_TaskDetails or EdmCmd_TaskLaunch ?

the mpoExtra normal only gets you an instance of IEdmTaskInstance or IEdmTaskProperties which are only used to allow to save either variables or your own-defined data in the task itself (Through SetValEx or GetValEx)

I don’t think you should be setting mpoExtra.

I was too vague, and I still don’t have all the correct names/terms at the top of my head. What you say is pretty much what I’m doing. Using SetValEx and GetValEx, but instead of having a bunch of them I just have one. I don’t have much real, guided, experience but I don’t like casting from System.object all the time. I think they call it strongly typed code, I prefer that, it’s just easier to read and follow. Anyway instead of having a bunch of values stored with string names (can can be defined as const, I know) and casting, I made a struct of the data I needed to store and decorated it Serializable() then store that string as the one and only user variable. This way when I deserialize the stored string all the types are there and I access them as Properties.

Just wondering if anyone else is using this method. What I have seems to be working, but frankly, I don’t know if I implemented it right or the best way.