Error when using C# to access to SolidWorks

Hi Everyone, I am a newbie to C#

I follow XCad instructions to try to open a customize command manager tab in SolidWorks.
However, it keeps popping up an error:
“The expression .Substring(0, 4) cannot be evaluated. Index and length must refer to a location within the string. Parameter name: length”

As no line and code for this error, I have totally no idea how to solve it.
Could anyone help?

(Implementing SOLIDWORKS® Top Ten List Ideas 2020 from scratch using xCAD.NET - YouTube)

1 Like

@artem : This is your lib! :smiley:

@Ryan, do you have this during the compilation, i.e. in the Visual Studio or at runtime? I can see Substring(0, X) is used once in the code to extract the version of the file which I believe is not the case here.

And it is also used in the project targets to extract the current version of the framework. And I believe later one is the case. If so, please make sure you are using either .NET Framework or .NET Core , .NET 5 is not supported yet as per this ticket. My recommendation to use .NET Framework instead of .NET Core for SOLIDWORKS add-ins.

@artem
I am using Visual Studio to code (Community 2015)
using .NET Framework 4.6.1 currently,
and these are the Nuget package I have downloaded and used as Reference

this time I am using a simpler code captured on Xcad platform,
but seems the same problem happen…

Ah, I see. Visual Studio 2015 is quite old and I believe has a different structure (could you please attach this .csproj file here so I can inspect it) - I am using 2019 Community. I think you can make it work in a slightly different way:

• Unload the project and edit content (alternatively just open your *.csproj file in the notepad)
  • Remove the following portion from the project:

• Now you need to add this into your postbuild events

“%Windir%\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v4.0.30319\regasm” /codebase “$(TargetPath)”

Thanks @artem
Another error message pop up after following above instruction